MINUTES BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS PUBLIC MEETING JANUARY 3, 2022

CALL TO ORDER-ROLL CALL-DECLARATION OF QUORUM:

The Penn Township Board of Commissioners met for the purpose of reorganization on January 3, 2022 at the Penn Township Municipal Building. District Magistrate Jeffrey Sneeringer called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M. Present at the meeting were Commissioners-Elect Berlingo and Heiland; Commissioners Brown and Elksnis. Also present were Township Manager Rodgers, District Magistrate Sneeringer, Police Chief Hettinger, Fire Chief Clousher, Township Engineer Bortner, Zoning Officer Smith, and Township Secretary Sweeney.

<u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG FOLLOWED BY A PERIOD OF SILENT MEDITATION:</u>

All in attendance stood for the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag, which was followed by a period of silent meditation.

ADMINISTRATION OF OATHS OF OFFICE TO COMMISSIONERS:

District Magistrate Sneeringer administered the oaths of office to Commissioners-Elect Berlingo and Heiland, and Tax Collector-Elect Hoke.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

District Magistrate Sneeringer called for nominations for the office of President. It was moved by Commissioners Heiland/Elksnis to nominate Michael Brown to the office of President of the Penn Township Board of Commissioners. The motion carried unanimously

Commissioner Brown called for nominations for the office of Vice-President. It was moved by Commissioners Heiland/Brown to nominate Mark R. Elksnis for the office of Vice-President of the Penn Township Board of Commissioners. The motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners Heiland/Elksnis moved to appoint Jan Cromer as Penn Township Commissioner. The motion carried unanimously.

District Magistrate Sneeringer administered the oath of office for Penn Township Commissioner to Jan Cromer.

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Commissioner Brown read the announcement of executive session that was held following the December 20, 2021, Board of Commissioners' meeting. Commissioner Brown announced that after the Public Works meeting this evening The Board of Commissioners would convene in an executive session to discuss personnel matters.

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS:

Commissioner Brown read the Committee appointments for 2022-2023 as follows:

Finance	Pamela Berlingo Justin Heiland	Chairman Co-Chairman
Health & Sanitation	Mark Elksnis Justin Heiland	Chairman Co-Chairman
Personnel	Justin Heiland Michael Brown	Chairman Co-Chairman
Public Safety	Jan Cromer Mark Elksnis	Chairman Co-Chairman
Public Works	Justin Heiland Pamela Berlingo	Chairman Co-Chairman
South Western Recreation Commission	Justin Heiland Michael Brown	Representative Alternate
South Western Liaison Committee (President, Vice-President)	Michael Brown Mark Elksnis	Representative Alternate
Hanover Area Regional Economic Development Committee (President, Vice-President)	Michael Brown Mark Elksnis	Representative Alternate
Police & Fire Pension Boards (Finance)	Jan Cromer Pamela Berlingo	
Hanover Area Fire & Rescue Commission	Michael Brown Jan Cromer Pamela Berlingo	Representative Representative Alternate

APPOINTMENT OF TOWNSHIP OFFICIALS:

Commissioners Heiland/Elksnis moved for the appointment of Kristina J. Rodgers as Township Manager for a two-year term effective January 1, 2022. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners Heiland/Berlingo moved for the appointment of Steven M. Hovis, Esquire, as Township Solicitor for a two-year term effective January 1, 2022. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners Heiland/Cromer moved for the appointment of Eric J. Bortner as Township Engineer for a two-year term effective January 1, 2022. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners Heiland/Elksnis moved for the appointment of Steven Hartlaub as Township Broker of Record for a two-year term effective January 1. 2022. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners Heiland/Elksnis moved to adopt Resolution No. 980 appointing Kristina J. Rodgers as Township Treasurer, Donna M. Sweeney as Township Secretary and Pamela Berlingo as Assistant Township Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

TOWNSHIP REPORTS – STANDING COMMITTEES:

Public Safety – Commissioner Cromer:

Commissioner Cromer had nothing to report.

Personnel – Commissioner Heiland:

Commissioners Heiland/Elksnis moved to appoint Charles Stauffer to a one-year term on the Penn Township Vacancy Board. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners Heiland/Elksnis moved to accept the resignation of Pamela Berlingo from the Penn Township Zoning Hearing Board. Motion carried unanimously.

Commissioners Elksnis/Cromer moved to appoint Justin Heiland and Pamela Berlingo to the Penn Township Planning Commission, said term to expire December 31, 2023. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Finance – Commissioner Berlingo:</u>

Commissioners Berlingo/Heiland moved to adopt Resolution No. 981 appointing Kristina J. Rodgers as the voting delegate and Donna M. Sweeney as the alternate delegate to represent Penn Township on the York County Tax Collection Committee. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>Public Works – Commissioner Heiland:</u>

Commissioner Heiland had nothing to report.

<u>Planning and Recreation – Commissioner Heiland:</u>

Commissioner Heiland had nothing to report.

<u>Health & Sanitation – Commissioner Elksnis:</u>

Commissioner Elksnis had nothing to report.

OLD BUSINESS: None

NEW BUSINESS: None

PERSONS TO BE HEARD/CITIZEN'S COMMENTS: None

QUESTIONS FROM THE PRESS FOR THE COMMISSIONERS: None

ADJOURNMENT:

There being no further business to come before the Board, Commissioners Brown/Elksnis moved for adjournment at approximately 7:13 P.M. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Donna M. Sweeney Township Secretary